Numbers Never Lie…

01-Tiltshift LYON décollage-2

Numbers Never Lie…

In life they say that nothing is certain, as any fundamental truth cannot be known entirely. So rather than try to justify how my exchange here in Lyon has been, you can analyze the numbers, and thus use them to make predictions on how your exchange will be… because numbers never lie.

Basic Numbers:

0. The amount of Polish words I knew before I arrived.
1. As in 1 amazing IBP coordination team, always putting in the time and effort to make your exchange that much better.
2. The Polish words I know now.
3. Maximum numbers of absences you are permitted… remember you are here to learn.
4. Metro Lines to get you around town,
5. Cross cultural group work…there will be lots of it (groups of 5)…lots of work… but you get so much out of it aside from just acquiring knowledge.
6. Tram Lines support the Metro. For a city this size, the public transport is simply amazing! Don’t forget the excellent bus service too!
7. Euros… as in your weekly minimum budget for Pain au Chocolat (1 euro each at Perrache bus station)…simply amazing!
8. As in 8 Countries that border France. Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Monaco, Spain and Andorra are within your grasp!
9. Umm well… Nothing really important about this number
10. As in 10 days in Spain I spent during the April break…they are very generous with how much time off you get.
11. As in 11 of us who went to Geneva in February, the closest major international city to Lyon.
12. There are 12…yes 12 Irish/British themed pubs located in or around Vieux-Lyon.

Other Numbers

  • 0.65 Cents. Your usual cost of a baguette here at a boulangerie. J’aime la France.
  • 1.50 Euros. The cost of a cheap, yet fairly decent price of wine. Again, we are in France.
  • 5.50 Euros. Kebab avec des frites et sauce blanche. Nothing makes the perfect late nightmeal than a Kebab.
  • 290/130. That is 290 hectares of land, and 130 animals, all available to see (gratuit) at  le Parc de la Tete d’Or.
  •  187. As in 187 km’s of running I have done on the streets of Lyon. There is no better way to get to know a city as beautiful, and as interesting as Lyon than by runningthrough its streets.
  • 4000. Be prepared to spend at least 4000 Euros, I know that I have spent at least that much if not more.

Undefined:

Friends: Impossible to quantify the valuable friendships I have made here in Lyon. The people I have met, their stories, where they come from, who they are, have facilitated an enormous amount of outgrowth from me. For me, the experience has been amazing, and the friendships, hopefully will last a lifetime.

The Places: Sometimes there is disappointment in what you think something will be like as opposed to how it actually turns out to be. For me, I always had an idea of what these places, cities, monuments, etc. would look like. In this case, there is a certain feeling, it’s hard to say what exactly (joy, enthusiasm, pride, etc.) but I wouldn’t trade the experience of seeing these places for anything. I guess the old adage is true, material objects come and go, but experiences last forever.

France: I can say that I am extremely happy I chose France as opposed to some of my other options. There are several reasons why I love this country, (the culture, the landscape, the food, etc.) but most of all it is the people. If you are willing to make yourself vulnerable and take some risks (i.e. speaking French with French people)…as opposed to always trying to speak your maternal language, the rewards, and the friendships you will receive will last forever. Sometimes it is hard, but if everything in life were easy then no one would do anything at all.

Lyon: This city is amazing in that it negotiates dual identities very well. Lyon is the perfect medium sized city. It has all the benefits of living in a large city, but yet the pace of life is more relaxed, the people are more open and friendly, and you really feel as if it is a space as opposed to just a place. The best thing around here is the hidden green spaces. When I first arrived I was disappointed to find that the amount of green spaces (like parks and forests) were minimal. When I began to run though the streets, I unexpectedly discovered a Lyon I never thought existed. Everyday is a new adventure that will make you love Lyon.

What The Numbers Tell Us:

When we add up our undefined with our basic and our other numbers what do we get? Well, I’d like to think that the numbers add up to one amazing experience. To say that spending the last 5 months living here in Lyon has been life changing would be a bit of an understatement. I truly believe that coming here has changed my life and empowered me to be a more open, happier, cultural, and all around better person. You will learn, you will love, you will laugh, and maybe you will cry even. But most important is you will become more of that person you want to be and in the end, when the years have passed by, you will look back and remember this time with the greatest of memories.

They say numbers never lie….well… in this case the numbers simply can’t comprehend how amazing an experience studying in Lyon has been, and will be for you.

 

-Brady Figley

Cet article a été publié dans Students Testimonie. Ajoutez ce permalien à vos favoris.

Laisser un commentaire